August 9, 2012-Tony Stewart 1997

Over the years I’ve been very lucky to do radio interviews from Gasoline Ally. I’ve worked for the IMS Radio Network, WIBC, WNDY TV-23  and Bob & Tom who I still help. In 1997 I was on WIBC afternoons and I would originate my show from 4 to 6 in Gasoline Ally and from 6 to 7 sit in with Donald Davidson. That year there was a guy doing sports on my show named Jim Volkman. Jim did an amazing Harry Caray so I tried to incorporate the impression into the program when ever I could. I’d know Tony since 1993 and while talking with him earlier in the week, found out he was tired of answering the same questions over and over. I promised him a different experience this time. This is from May 15, 1997. The first weekend of qualifying was over and it was a practice day.

Tony Stewart-Harry 05159 click here to listen

Jim’s impression was so good it fooled friends of Harry’s who heard him on the air in Chicago.

Great times with the Rushville Rocket:)

One comment

  1. Lenny Ten Barge · · Reply

    I know it will never happen but I wish Tony could race in the 500 again!!!

Leave a Reply

